Movie of the Week << A Royal Night Out (2015)

Hello and happy Sunday to all!

This week’s movie is “A Royal Night Out” as you will have probably guessed from the title. It actually left me with a sweet feeling inside, not letting me decide if I quite like it or not.

1d2af93594483701d5774391ba9d338b_500x735

Title:  A Royal Night Out

Release Date: 2015

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Romance

Starring: Sarah Gadon, Bel Powley, Emily Watson, Rupert Everett

Director: Julian Jarold

Duration: 1h 37m

a-royal-night-out-6

 

Summary: It is the end of World War II. Everyone all over the world is celebrating and English people could be no exception. Princess Elizabeth and her sister Margaret want to go out tonight, to mingle among commoners, celebrate the victory and for once in their lifes, have fun. Although their mother is reluctant at first, she eventually gives in and allows them to go out with two generals as chaperones to guarantee their safety. The plan seems to work out pretty nicely at first, but then Margaret leaves unexpectedly and as Elizabeth hurries in search of her she meets Jack and she experiences the most extraordinary night of her life.

a-royal-night-out-2015-bel-powley-as-princess-margaret-swarovski-is-the-exclusive-jewellery-partner-and-supplier-gno-productions-limited-5-1024x676

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): I am not really sure what to think of this movie, as I said previously. It left me quite uninterested I have to say, even thought it was a pleasure for me to watch. Certainly, it’s ftom the kind of movies that you do not rewatch, as there is not something extraordinary about it, it is just a nice movie to spend your time on.

a-royal-night-out-di-1

I have to give praise to Sarah Gadon for this movie, because she acted out the part of Elizabeth in such poise that is definitely admirable. This was my first movie of hers and I simply loved her, she was one of the reasons I kept watching even though I go a little bored in the middle. I really cannot think of any actress playing the part better and I am really happy I “discovered” her, as I will certainly watch her other work too.

elizabeth-jack

Another aspect I really like was the humour it had, sometimes I caught myself laughing especially with Bel Powley who plays Margaret. She was so clueless the whole time which made facts even funnier, as she lacked common knowledge of a lot of things, because as a princess in war time she lived mostly inside the palace. She was the one that got in trouble the most with Elizabeth trying to save her and all of this ended to comical situations.

mirror-643-x-319

Lastly, I have to say that I pretty much enjoyed myself with this movie, but I would not watch it again. It’s not that I hated it, it’s just because I don’t think it has anything more to give me. There are other movies that I have watched several times, observing every little detail, tracing the actors faces for hidden emotions and stuff, but with this it was nto the case. Nonetheless, I am happy i watched for Sarah Gadon alone!

royalnightout-2-z

Rating:

3-stars.jpg

Thank you so much for reading my review, hope you watch the movie and please feel free to let me know in the comments your thoughts on it! Also, if you want you can check out Pure, one of my oldest movie reviews!

Quote of the Day: “Happines is like a missing sock. You know it will turn up eventually, but it will probably be in the strangest place”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590

Instagram themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

 

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

One thought on “Movie of the Week << A Royal Night Out (2015)

Leave a Reply

