Movie of the Week << Till det som ar vacket – Pure (2009)

Hello everyone!
Today has been a pretty nice day I have to say, but I could not contain myself when writing this post. This is a movie that I liked so much, I can’t even put it to words. Maybe I am a little bias, because I like Alicia Vikander a lot, but the acting in this movie is on point the whole time and 20-year-old Alicia gives an excellent and raw portrayal of Katarina, and I just had to do a review about it! 

pure_film

Title: Till det som är vacket – Pure
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Drama
Starring: Alicia Vikander, Samuel Fröler, Joshephine Bauer
Director: Lisa Langseth
Duration: 1h 37m

 

Summary: Katarina (Alicia Vikander) is a 20-year-old with a troubled past and an even more troubled mother. Her only solace is classical music and one day while visiting the Opera House she takes part in an interview for the position of the receptionist by chance. Realising that this is her only chance to make her life normal, she does her best in order to get this job and she is finally hired. Working there she meets Adam (Samuel Fröler) who is the conductor of the orchestra. He takes an interest in her that will lead both of them to dark paths, as he drives Katarina desperate and desperate people are able to do simply anything to maintain what gives meaning to their lifes.

tumblr_inline_nnd1ate9tg1t7djrx_1280

Likes/Dislikes:
(may contain spoilers)
First I have to say that this movie is not that perfect and not exactly what you’d call Oscars material, but it had an effect on me nonetheless. The plot is quite interesting and I actually was very keen to see what would happen to these people’s lifes, as they all seemed to have a ton of problems. The director did a pretty good job also, giving us nice cinematography, so I have to say that for it being my first Swedish movie, I was pretty satisfied with it.
pure-2009-stills-alicia-vikander-39222410-500-230

I think now is the time to give praise to Alicia Vikander for this role, I’ve hold myself long enough!
I believe that she handled it exceptionally well for her age (thinking she was 20 years old while filming) and some of her close-ups nearly brought me to tears, as she made it so easy for you to feel the same emotions as her and take part in her hardships.
Skimming through her biography I read that she was rejected two times from drama schools before this movie, so  I understand what made her give this fierce performance. She was desperate to start acting, she wanted a chance to prove them all wrong and she took it and was one of the best actors in the movie. 

pure-e1354855739239

Regarding the plot, I have to say I hated Adam! At first, he seemed so nice, giving her books to read and rides home and all that, but towards the end he acted like a complete asshole. He treated her so poorly and I completely believe he is responsible for her actions, as he should’ve thought how sensitive and clinged to him she was.

pure-2009-stills-alicia-vikander-39222412-1417-943

What more, sometimes Katarina seemed so lost and helpless, but that’s not an excuse for some of her actions. She definitely had some anger issues that need to be resolved, but she refused any form of help until the very end, where she reached her lowest point.
I liked the positivity at the end, it really gave me some feeling of hope, because Katarina finally found herself, she found the salvation she needed and when the movie ended I felt genuinely happy about her.

pure-2009-stills-alicia-vikander-39222413-500-332

Closing, this movie left me with a bittersweet feeling about life. The director gave a realistic view to some ugly parts of life, without being afraid to be raw. Because if I had to describe the whole movie with one word, that’s the word I would use: raw.
I totally recommend it and it may seem a little too much, but it’s definitely worth a shot! 
d40bef95dad41639d2b071731a6dc73d

Rating: 

4-stars

 

We have reached the end of yet another movie review, I hope you enjoyed reading it and that you will check out the movie!

Quote of the Day: “Stop criticizing yourself for everything you are not and start appreciating yourself for what you are”.

Follow me on

Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind
Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590
Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

 xoxo
 (I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Movie of the Week << Till det som ar vacket – Pure (2009)

Leave a Reply

