Movie of the Week << A Little Chaos (2014)

Hello friends!

I hope you had a fantastic week and I want to wish to all of you “Happy Halloween”! I know it is tomorrow and even though here in Greece we do not celebrate it, I realise it is a big deal in other countries, so I hope you all have a fun time celebrating!

Leaving that aside, today the movie I want to talk to you about is called “A Little Chaos” and although it has a promising cast, I can’t say I thouroughly enjoyed it, so keep reading if you wan t to find out why.

14907877_1106284662773871_1813919301_o

Title: A Little Chaos

Release Date: 2014

Genre: Drama, Romance

Starring: Kate Winslet, Mattias Schoenaerts, Alan Rickman, Stanley Tucci

Director: Alan Rickman

Duration: 1h 57m

976_sq-1e36c188f846463f3d56331debf3c99d002685bf-s300-c85

 

Summary: Sabine (Kate Winslet) is a landscape designer, with a hollow past, that is hired from Andre (Mattias Schoenaerts) to build a segment of the gardens of Versailles for King Louis XVI (Alan Rickman). Sabine and Andre don’t get along at the beginning, but they become romantically involved, despite Sabine grieving for her dead husband and daughter and Andre having a wife that causes too many problems. The two protagonists, try to navigate through building the gardens, their romance and the numerous traps of the Court, while always pleasing King Louie, who has his own skeletons in the wardrobe.

0128dedb-6649-4b20-8c60-1270b47a7462-460x276

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): Let’s start with the fact that I found no purpose in this movie, whatsoever. I mean, I spend two quiet enjoyable hours, but when the movie ended I was left with mixed feelings. For me, every movie should have a clear mission, to show you some specific facts, or even educate you on a certain historic event. This movie did none of that and it was a simple movie about a king who wants to build new gardens and his two designers end up in love. I understand that many of you might like this movie if you watch it, it just didn’t work for me, I guess.

film-chaos-adv2624

Kate Winslet was (as always) very good in this movie, she handled the role of the troubled widow very well and I think there is not a movie of hers that I have not enjoyed. Mattias Schoenaerts on the other hand did not catch my attention as much as I wanted to. I had already watched “Far from the Madding Crowd” (if you want to read a review click here) and I really loved him there, so that’s one of the main reasons I decided to watch “A Little Chaos” in the first place. He was good, but not as good as in “Far from the Madding Crowd” and I was a little disappointed, not to mention that I hated his long hair!!

alc-4

Also, one of the characters that I completely despised, was Andre’s wife, who was making his life so hard, that I was wishing a carriage would run over her in the middle of the movie! They were married only for appearances and that was her idea, so when Andre fell in love with Sabine, what exactly was her problem??? I think she was a filling character, even though I like the actress, that helped only to drag the story a little longer.

helen-mccrory-mada_3247870k

Closing, I have to say that it was a nice movie and Alan Rickman did a pretty good job directing, he gave us nice pictures and good cinematography, but I would not watch it a second time. It was relaxing enough and I spend two hours watching it that I do not regret, yet I don’t think that I would highly recommend it. Maybe it was just my mood the day I watched it and maybe someone else enjoyed it way more that I did, but this is my honest opinion on this film.

a-little-chaos

Rating

2-stars

Thank you sooo much for reading this review and I would love it to read your feedback in the comments about this movie or my other posts in general! Stay tuned, cause tomorrow comes my book review of the month!

The world is responding to who you believe you are. If you want to be successful, start thinking of yourself as a success.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590

Instagram themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

 

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

One thought on “Movie of the Week << A Little Chaos (2014)

Leave a Reply

