Book of the Month ~ Glass Sword (October 2016)

Happy Halloween guys!

I wish you all an amazing day, have as much fun as you can and enjoy yourselves to the most! But, now on to our stuff and as I already mentioned in my Introduction post, every last day of the month, I will be doing a book review for you all!

So, this month’s book is called “Glass Sword” and without further a due, let’s get into the details!

41vhgcjx2jl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Summary: Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind. Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors. But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

13ef595d-57f2-48e3-95d4-dcf4206b6d22-jpg-_cb300380601_

Thoughts on the Book: First off, I have to say that this book is a sequel to “Red Queen”, which I have already reviewed and you can read my thoughts and comme ts if you click here. So, I was already familiar with Victoria Aveyard’s writing style and I have to say that I really like it, it takes you by storm making you turn page after page non stop. She writes fast paced books, detailed enough that way you can get a nice picture of what’s going on, wihtout getting bored. Cocluding, I have to say I am a fan and I cannot wait for the final installment in the series to come out!

tumblr_o2ay8kjr9d1s7njh4o1_500

Thoughts on the Storyline (may contain spoilers): Thet first thing I want to adress is that Mare Barrow has to be the most emotionally unstable girl I’ve ever read about! Normally you read about love triangles but hold your horses, in this series you have a love square (?) Like, what’s going on Mare? Pull yourself together and pick a person to fall in love with so we can get on with our impeding war! In the middle of the book, I was furious with her, because they were supposedly preparing to fight Maven and his army and little mare was unable to set her mind straight about who she actuallys wants! It is one of her characteristics that I did not like at all and sometimes thought it made the story procceed slower and was uneccessary for the storyline.

3b22c25b-8bac-4997-b5cb-a44f9fbd15c2-_cb300912158_

An aspect of the story that I enjoyed reading about was the various abilities of the Newbloods. They were stronger than the Silvers and their abilities were far more interesting. The whole proccess of recruiting and training them was so intriguing and I was very satisfied to read the final battle at the prison Maven and his mother build for them.

1fe54ed7-a8ca-4321-a357-1ba7438e4b99-jpg-_cb300380648_

Last but not least, this book was a very nice sequel to the “Red Queen” and I was not really expecting it to be that good. Generally, the first book in a trilogy is very good, the second is a little bit dragging and then the third is as good and maybe even better than the first. That wasn’t the cas with this one. It was a thrilling novel with lots of action and it has me waiting anxiously for the third book!

Rating

3-stars

This is the end of today’s book review, hope you enjoyed reading and I totally recommend you to start reading the series!

To attract something you want, figure out how to experience the emotion of having it, before you actually get it

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind
Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590
Instagram: themanyartsofthemind
xoxo
(I do not claim the photos or the rights of the book mine)
2 thoughts on “Book of the Month ~ Glass Sword (October 2016)

Leave a Reply

