Book of the Month ~ Red Queen (August 2016)

Hello everyone!

Sadly, today is the last day of August, with that meaning that summer has officially ended! Many of you may be headed back to school or college and I have to say the truth, for me it is bittersweet that summer has ended, because on one hand I miss my holidays with my friends and on the other hand I can’t wait to start my third year in college and see what the future brings!
As you may have already noticed, every last day of the month, I talk about my favourite book I have read the past few days. This month’s book is none other than “Red Queen” by  Victoria Aveyard.

 

 

Summary: This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power. Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime. But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

 


Thoughts on the book: The first thing I have to say about this book is the amazing cover it has, as I completely fell in love with it! What I liked more is the fact that is so minimalistic, yet the blooded crown gives you the chills.
Victoria Aveyard is an author new to me, meaning that I had not read any other work from her and I can say that I devoured this one. I really liked her writing style and I can say that the story, even though it is somewhat similar to other dystopian ones, it was quiet interesting to follow.
Lastly, I am a big fan of trilogies and when a good story like that comes to my hands, I am pretty excited that I will have two more books to read about Mare and the other characters!

 

 

 
Thoughts on the storyline:
(may contain spoilers)
First of all, Mare is a nice heroine, a little bit stubborn for my taste, but she is so hard working and driven to help her family and generally, tries to do good to everyone.
A thing that kind of had me thinking was the fact that you were not reading about a typical love triangle. Let’s set matters straight: There’s Mare of course and then we have the two princes, Cal (the older one) and Maven (the younger one). When Mare starts living in the palace, she is betrothed to Maven even though she starts falling for Cal. After a while she starts thinking a lot about Maven too and let us not forget her long time best friend Kilorn, who would really like to be romantically involved with her. As you understand we somewhat have a love square going on and I can say it is the first time a stumble upon one.
The last I am going to talk about is the betrayal at the end, which I didn’t see coming at all! It caught me off guard and the last pages of the book had me reading like a maniac, trying to figure out how it would end! I am not going to say more, as I don;t want to spoil it for you, all I am going to say is that it is really worth your time and you will be happy to read a book like that.

Rating

 

We have reached the end for yet another book review, hope you liked it and let me know if you haver read or plan to read “Read Queen”!
For those of you who have already read it, you can ckeck out my review to the sequel “Glass Sword” by clicking here!
 Books wash away from the soul the dust of everyday life
Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind
Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590
Instagram: themanyartsofthemind
xoxo
(I do not claim the photos or the rights of the book mine)
2 thoughts on “Book of the Month ~ Red Queen (August 2016)

Leave a Reply

