Honest Review – Melody’s Key

Hello everyone!

I hoepe you are having a fantastic Saturday! Today I am doing something I’ve never done in this blog and I hope it goes nicely. A couple of weeks ago I was approached and asked by Dallas Coryell to do a review on his book “Melody’s Key” and I gladly agreed.

Before I start with the review though, I’d like to set a quick disclaimer: This is going to be an honest review and the fact that this book was sent to me doesn’t mean that it will affect my opinion on the story. I an going to talk about in the same style I do with my monthly book reviews.

And now that we cleared this up, let’s talk a little bit about the author before we get into the book.

Dallas Coryell is a musician and author residing deep in the untamed wilds of Michigan, USA, where he desperately attempts to assign meaning to his world through bouts of maniacal creative catharsis and pitifully doomed hopeless romantic fantasies. All of the songs written by the characters in this novel are real and can be viewed on the author’s fledgling YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/DallasCoryell1 Selfies and other assorted randomness can be found on the author’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dallascoryell

bio-photo

Summary: “His eyes settled on her…piercing green embers of flame that revealed the ferocity of his pain and passion, yet still shrouded him under veils of ever deepening mystery that made every ounce of her ache to unravel him.”

Tegan Lockwood’s dreams were dead, sacrificed on the noble altar of duty before they ever had a chance to live. Her entire existence was disappearing into the abyss of apathy as she labored her days away keeping her family’s struggling business alive. There would be no emotion, no color, no beauty in her life. That is, until a mysterious visitor begins to draw her out of the darkness of her past towards something that will challenge the boundaries of her world, and unlock the most deeply held secrets of her heart.

14957999_1111260842276253_1702281991_o

Thoughts on the book: Coryell’s writing style is very interesting, as he does very thourough descriptions of the surroundingd and of the characters feelings. At first, I thought that I’d be bored reading all of this before actual action took place, but I was really impressed at times! What more, the book is a love story and I think it perfectly captured the essence of young love, even though it had some parts that I did not like or found a bit unrealistic. Overall, I have to say that I enjoyed his writing a lot and I will surely read his next work.

Thoughts on the storyline (may contain spoilers): First of all, I have to say that Tegan is a character that I can relate a lot to, and I believe most of 20-something year old girls out there can. She is sweet, loving and passionate and that fact that she turned down a schorlarship in order to help her family moved me a lot.

Mason was a character that I didn’t like from the beginning. I don’t knwo exactly what it was, but with him a found things a little bit more complicated and I was trying very hard to see where his loyalties lie. Eventually, he won me over, although I found that fact that he bought the massive estate Tegan leaves in and her scholarship to Columbia a little bit extravagant and I am not sure if it is something realistic or not.

Tegan’s family gave off the impression of a very tight group of people that love each other so much that it was very sweet in my opinion. They are all working for the family bussiness and that shows how devoted they are to each other. A thing that I didn’t like though, is the fact that they were all so open with sex, I mean whose parents are like that? Tegan was havig a very heated moment with Mason in the house and her mother was approving of it instead of scolding her in some sort!

Lastly, finishng the book, I have to say that I had two protests regarding the story.
1) Nearly the whole first chapter talks about how sad Tegan is turning down the scholarship and staying at home to help. So in the end, when she can finally go to Columbia and study art she decides against it one more time, just because Mason told her to start a music career with him in London… And I’m sitting there like: “Tegan pull yourself together”!! Columbia was her ultimate dream and now she gives it away just like that…??
2) Throughout the whole book, Tegan has been reading some love letters from her anscestors. I found this a very nice touch to the story and liked reading about this paralell love story, but it went nowhere! They were just some filler “chapters” to the actual story and I have to say I am kind of bumped, because I want it to have a purpose!

Rating

3-stars

Thank you so much for reading my first ever “Honest Review” and I hope many more will follow! You can contact on all my social media or in the actual “Contact” space of my site!

Stop setting yourself on fire for people who will just sit there and watch you burn

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590

Instagram themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

Leave a Reply

