Movie of the Week << The Light Between Oceans (2016)

Hello everybody!

Another Sunday, another movie review! I am so excited to talk about this movie that I seriously contemplated doing this post earlier than Sunday. First, let me get things straight. On Tuesday I went with one of my good friends to watch “The Light between Oceans” in the cinema (in Greece movie premiers tend to be a little bit delayed than other countries). When we left the movie theater I was simply in awe, I couldn’t explain how much I had liked this movie or how much it made me feel for this characters. So, it’s finally time I get to put my thoughts into words and I hope that you will enjoy this review.

light_between_oceans_ver2_xlg.png

Title: The light between oceans

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Drama, Romance

Starring: Alicia Vikander, Michael Fassbender, Rachel Weisz

Director: Derek Cianfrance

Duration: 2h 15m

the_light_between_oceans

Summary: Tom Sherbourne (Michael Fassbender) starts working as a lighthouse keeper in a deserted island called Janus. After a while he marries young Isabel Graysmark (Alicia Vikander) and she joins him on Janus in the hope of starting a family together. After two miscarriages, the couple finds a boat with a dead man and a crying baby as its only passengers. Despite the fact that they should report the incident on the authorities, they decide to keep the baby and raise it as their own. Their seemingly happy life is about to change when the real mother of the baby, Hanna (Rachel Weisz), comes into picture…

the-light-between-oceans-exclusive

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): First, I want to share my thoughts on the story, before going on and talk about the actors and parts that I liked more than others. The story felt very sweet and heartbreaking on the same time. It was a story about ordinary people, people that could easily have been living around us. What really got to me was the sensitive way it touched very delicate matters such as a miscarriage. The director and actors did a beautiful job and in my opinion and made me feel, something that I search for in a movie, I want to feel something when watching a movie, not just have fun or pass my time, and this particular movie certainly did that to me.

160901_mov_lightbetweenoceans-jpg-crop-promo-xlarge2

One of the main reasons I wanted to watch this movie, was Alicia Vikander. Her first movie I watched was The Man from U.N.C.L.E (which I have reviewed if you are interested in reading) and then I saw her first ever movie Pure and I simply loved her. I have watched almost all of her movies and she amazes me every single time, so I was dead serious about watching this movie. She gave a heartbreaking performance that had me to tears until the end of the movie. Fassbender was just as good, the two of them gave stellar performances, being so into their characters and all. Also, Rachel Weisz was incredible, I mean seeing this cast you knew the movie would be good. What more, I loved little Florence Clery that plays 4 year old Lucy/Grace, she was such an adorable and intelligent little girl!

1200

What I liked about this story, is the fact that you didn’t actually realise who is the bad guy and who’s not. I felt sympathy for both mothers, because on the one hand Isabel had lost two babies and all she wanted was to give love to little Lucy/Grace and on the other hand Hanna was the girl’s actual mother and was doing everything in her power to get her back. I totally understand Tom’s dilemma, he clearly couldn’t keep a kid that had a biological mother and that mother was so keen in finding her. Also, I understand Isabel’s anger towards him, because she loved Lucy/Grace so much, but I was so glad that she finally returned to him and realised how truly she loved him. Because he was about to give up his whole life to protect her and she eventually proved her love for him.

the-light-between-oceans-michael-fassbender-alicia-vikander-rachel-weisz-349486-jpg-r_1920_1080-f_jpg-q_x-xxyxx

Closing up this review, I want to say that this movie is for me on of the best, if not the best, of 2016. It is brought to us with such sincerity and sensitivity and that’s what makes it so original and true.

 

Rating

5-stars

 

 

If you end up watching it, or have already watched it, I would really appreciate your feedback in the comments.

 

 

“Truth is, most people don’t start because they don’t want to be seen starting at the bottom. Don’t be most people”.

 

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

 

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

One thought on “Movie of the Week << The Light Between Oceans (2016)

Leave a Reply

