Movie of the Week << Pan (2015)

Hello people!

Today has been a pretty rough day, I had so much to do that I was up since 7AM! But, we also decorated for Christmas and I was so so happy, because the whole house looks so festive now that makes me really happy! Enough with that, now it’s time to get to the movie, and this week’s movie is “Pan”!

pan-2015-movie-poster

Title: Pan

Release Date: 2015

Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Family

Starring: Hugh Jackman, Rooney Mara, Levi Miller, Garret Hedlung, Amanda Seyfried

Director: Joe Wright

Duration: 1h 51m

pan-image03

Summary: This is the story behind the world famous story of Peter Pan (Levi Miller). We watch Peter’s first steps in NeverLand and the way he defeted Blackbeard (Hugh Jackman) with the help of Princess Tiger Lily (Rooney Mara) and Captain James Hook (Garret Hedlung). We follow Peter’s adventures as he tries to free the fairy kingdom and find who he truly is.

PAN

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): For me the story of Peter Pan is something very dear in my heart as it was probably one of my favourite Disney movies growing up. So being able to see the story before the one we knew all these years was very exciting to me. I had high hopes for this movie, because I wanted it to do justice to the actuall story J.M. Barrie wrote. Overall, I have to say that it was a very nice movie with interesting plot.

IMG_1779.DNG

Joe Wright is one of my favourite directors and I was so glad he took on this project, he really did an amazing job! He also gave a kind of modern look to the movie, incorporating some bits like songs that are contemporary. The only thing that put me off, was the fact that Rooney Mara was cast as princess Tiger Lily. As we know, Tiger Lily is the daughter of the chief of a tribe that lived in NeverLand. Rooney Mara is white and I generally like her as an actress but I think they should cast someone more cultural appropriate for the part.

pan2015-0106

The story was pretty detailed and you were left satisfied when it ended, but the only thing I would like to know is how Captain Hook and Peter Pan became enemies, because in the end we leave them as allies. Also, one of my favourite parts waste final battle were Peter united all the fairies against Blackbeard and his army of pirates. It was quite agonizing seeing Peter fighting and slowly discovering himself and his true strength. What more, it nearly brought me to tears when the fairies reunited Peter with his mother, even for a short period of time. Levi Miller was very good although he was so young and gave a heartbreaking performance when he finally met his mother.

Rating

3-stars

This is the end of this review, I hope it will urge you to watch and enjoy the movie!

“Very often, a change of self is needed much more than a change of scene – Christopher Benson”.

 

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

