Movie of the Week >> La La Land (2016)

Merry Christmas everyone!

I hope all of you had a marvellous time with friends and family and enjoyed yourselves as much as possible today! Christmas in probably one of my favourite holidays, not because of the presents, but because of the time I get to spent with my family and other relatives. It really reminds me that I may be growing but my parents are growing too, and I should cherish the moments I get to spend with them, before life gets the best of us.

Leaving this small self reflection aside, I am thrilled to talk about today’s movie which is none other than “La La Land” which premiered this week in Greece. I could not resist the urge and went to see it on the premiere and left the cinema being simply astonished!

kalhanalush

Title: La La Land

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Musical

Starring: Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling, Rosemarie DeWitt

Director: Damiene Chazelle

Duration: 2h 8m

163

Summary: Mia (Emma Stone) is an aspiring actress working in a cafeteria in LA, while going from one disastrous audition to another, trying to make her big break and finally start her career. Sebastian (Ryan Gosling) is a musician obssesed with jazz that dreams to own a jazz club one day. They keep bumping into each other in unlikely places until no one can deny the growing affection between them. Will they romance go hand in hand with personal success or will life get in the way?

La La Land (2016) Sebastian (Ryan Gosling) and Mia (Emma Stone)

Likes/Dislikes (spoiler free): Before I start, I want to clarify that I decided to do this review completely spoiler free, because it is simply an amazing experience watching it without knowing nothing more than what the trailer provides and I intent to keep it that way.

If I could use one word to describe this movie, I would choose exceptional. If I could use another word to describe it, I would use heartbraking. I read a critique before watching the film that stated: “They don’t make movies like this anymore” and leaving the cinema I could not agree more. The movie had the right amount of romance, humour and drama and all these aspects combined together make it extraordinary.

rs-248320-emma-stone-ryan-goseling-la-la-land-sing-dance-trailer

As you know this is partly a musical and there were two songs that got me right in the feels and I could not hold back the tears, as they were absolutely perfect.
The first is called “Mia and Sebastian’s Theme“, it is the melody that played whenever these characters were together and the acting was so on point that made the music even more heartfelt than it actually was.
The second is called “The Fools who Dream“, a song that Emma Stone sang in an audition and I have never felt that related to a song or performance ever! Many movies have talked about dreams and inner desires, but none did it so truthfully and emotionally as this 2 minute song. I still get shivers listening to it, as it gives me hope that maybe these dreams can come true if you try hard enough…

lala

Towards the end, I want to say that everything in this movie is perfectly done and the actors did more than a fantastic job portraying the characters. I can only cross my fingers that this movie gets one or two wins at the Oscars!
I am sorry that this review is rather small and not very revealing about the plot, but I simply cannot spoil anything about it, as it is a whole experience watching it and seeing the events unravel before your eyes. I know that many of you may say that I am over-enthusiastic, and I maybe am, but I promise, you will not be dissapointed when you see it and may this film make you feel a little more alive!

Rating:

5-stars

Thank you very much for reading and again I want ot wish to all of you to have a safe and joyful Christmas!

“Don’t let small minds convince you that your dreams are too big”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

