Movie of the Week << Grace of Monaco (2014)

Happy new year!!!

Oh my, I can hardly believe that 2016 is over! It was a fun year, it had it’s ups and downs, but generally it was a year that taught me a lot and let me explore different sides of myself. Also, it was the year that I started this blog and I am very happy with it and hope to keep working on it. Closing, I want to say that I am very grateful for all the blessings of 2016 and I look forward for what 2017 has in store.

Today, I have the designated “Movie of the Week” review and this week’s movie is “Grace of Monaco”.

grace-of-monaco-2014-movie-poster

Title: Grace of Monaco

Release Date: 2014

Genre: Biography, Drama, Romance

Starring: Nicole Kidman, Tim Roth, André Penvern, Francis Tucker

Director: Olivier Dahan

Duration: 1h 43m

grace-of-monaco-new-release-500x416

Summary: This is the true story of Grace Kelly who later became the Princess of Monaco. Grace Kellys was an actress that fell in love and married Prince Rainier. Of course, she had to quit acting and take on her royal duties and the movie follows her journey on an especially tough time for Monaco.

grace-of-monaco-2014-008

Thoughts on the movie (may contain spoilers): If you know me, you know that I really really like biopics or movies based on true stories. So, when I saw the trailer of the movie, I knew I had to watch it right away! The movie was very elegant, and had nice cinematography, which made it very pleasant to watch.

324

At first, I was hesitant to watch it, because I am not a very big fan of Nicole Kidman. But, she pulled it of amazingly in this movie, she really understood the complex character of Grace Kelly and all the emotional stages she went through. She did a very good job and with Tim Roth they made an excellent couple.

slide_352459_3818118_free

After I watched the movie, I did some research on Grace Kelly and her life. It was very interesting to read about and I stumbled upon an article that said her children were very angry with this movie, as they thought their mother came off as very sad and depressed. Well, she was sad indeed in some parts of the movie, but is not shameful to admit it. She was an artist that suddenly became a princess and had to follow strict protocol that she was not accustomed to, so it’s normal that she felt pressure. I think that even though she was sad for the most part, she did pull through and made her husband and Monaco proud.

graceofmonaco_01

Rating

3-stars

Thank you so much for reading and make sure that if you watch this movie, you’ll let me know in the comments!

“What to do with a mistake – recognize it, admit it, learn from it, forget it”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

