Movie of the Week << Assasin's Creed (2016)

Heyyy people!

I am so so so excited for today’s movie review! On Monday I went with two of my best friends to the cinema and we watched “Assassin’s Creed” and I loooved it! I was a bit baffled from the critiques before going in, but in my opinion it was a fairly good movie!

MV5BNzE1OTczNTc1OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzgyMDI3MDI@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpg

Title: Assassin’s Creed

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Starring: Michael Fassbender, Marion Cotillard, Jersey Irons, Brendan Gleeson

Director: Justin Kurzel

Duration: 1h 55m

assassins-gallery-gallery-image

Summary: Cal (Michael Fassbender) is a criminal living his last days in jail, before being sentenced to death. Instead of dying though, he wakes up in a laboratory where Sofia (Marion Cotillard) and her dad (Jeremy Irons) want to use him to find the apple of Eden. Cal is linked to the Animus in order to relive the memories of Aguilar, his ancestor who was part of the Assassin’s society. Unfortunately, not everything is what it seems and Cal has to decide whether he will follow Sofia’s orders or whether he will live up to his ancestor’s heritage…

assasins-creed

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): Let me tell you that I have been waiting for this movie for so long and I tried not to have high hopes, because I did not want to be disappointed. I have to say that I was not disappointed at all, the movie was good, the actors did a great job, the cinematography was pleasing and I also liked the music they used, especially in the fighting parts. This movie is the second that Fassbender, Cotillard and director Kurzel have worked together, (the first one is “Macbeth“) and it worked out incredibly!

assassins-creed-gallery-03-gallery-image

The plot was very interesting and stuck to the game a lot, the actors even made the same movements when fighting. A thing that was different from the game but didn’t bother me at all is the way Cal was linked to the Animus. I liked the fact that the device would lift him up and then everything Aguilar did was kind of displayed in the whole room. In the end, we also had a big scene where Fassbender was unnecessarily shirtless, but hey, who am I to complain?

michael-fassbender-assassins-creed-movie-4k-wallpaper

In the end they left the impression that there could be a sequel which I am completely down for, since this movie was so good. Also, before it ended I was hoping that Sofia and Cal would be allies, but it seems that she is about to hunt him down, so that would be interesting to watch!

Rating

4-stars

 

Thank you so so much for reading my review and if you haven’t seen the movie yet, I totally recommend you to do so!

 

“A year from now you may wish you had started today”.

 

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Tumblr https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nicki1590

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

