Movie of the Week << Indignation (2016)

Heyyy people!

I sure that you all know that today is Sunday and every Sunday we have a movie review! This week’s movie is “Indignation” and I am very sad to say that even though I was so eager to watch this movie, I was left with mixed feelings when it ended… But, more details will follow shortly!

indignation

 

Title: Indignation

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Drama, Romance

Starring: Logan Lerman, Sarah Gadon, Tijuana Ricks

Director: James Schamus

Duration: 1h 50m

 

Summary: The year is 1950. Marcus (Logan Lerman) is a Jewish uni student that seems to not be adjusting well to his new environment. He struggles with the rules, with his identity, with sexual repression, all of this while he falls for a very beautiful but also very troubled girl (Sarah Gadon). His life seems to go from bad to worse as his only enemy is his own self…

indig1

 

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): First and foremost, I want to point out that this is a movie adaptation of a book called “Indignation” too. I have not read the book and this movie made me want to read it not because it was good, but because I didn’t like the movie even though I liked the matters that were discussed. So, I want to read the book, to see if it is more interesting and more well presented than the movie.

indig_c0-10-3000-1759_s885x516

 

My main problem with the movie was that even though it was almost two hours long, I found it quite boring and in a way I could not see a beginning, a middle part and an end. Also, I could not find a purpose, I mean why would the director and the actors want to tell us this story?

indignation-02

 

The acting was good, I liked both of the main protagonists, Lerman and Gadon, Gadon actually was pretty good in “A royal night out” and she was one of the reasons I wanted to watch this movie. Lerman, on the other hand, I believe he has matured a lot acting wise and gave a very good performance that I enjoyed watching. I want to make clear that even if I said I enjoyed their performances, but they were not enough to “save” the movie, at least in my opinion, of course.

rs-indignation-e4f64d10-c97c-4acc-94a4-3dce010ece85

 

Rating

2-stars

Thank you so much for reading this review, and I would really love it if you commented your opinion on the movie, if you have seen it.

“Don’t live the same year 75 times and call it a life”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

