Movie of the Week << Passengers (2016)

Heyyy people!

How has your week been? Mine was pretty hectic and I would really love to restart the weekend, if possible! But all that aside, today my movie review revolves around the movie “Passengers”!

passengers

Title: Passengers
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Adventure, Drama, Romance
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Chris Pratt, Michael Sheen, Lawrence Fishburne
Director: Morten Tyldum
Duration: 1h 56m
Summary: The spaceship “Avalon” is headed to a colony planet carrying thousands of people that are asleep, until the reach their destination. When two passengers due to a malfunction wake up 90 years early, things are about to get complicated…
passengers-trailer-header-2_1050_591_81_s_c1
Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): First, I want to say that I am not the biggest fan of movies set in space, but I wanted to watch this one, due to the the good critiques I’ve heard! Well, it was a good decision apparently, because I sincerely enjoyed it!
passengers-trailer-2-2016-jennifer-lawrence-chris-pratt-sci-fi-movie-youtube-thumbnail-520x245

 

The story line was quite clever and it felt genuine, as at least I haven’t seen something like that before. Of course, after “Interstellar” was a huge success, space movies kept emerging, but this one was rather good. The pairing of Lawrence and Pratt worked out well, they had a lot of chemistry that was pretty obvious. I also enjoyed the fact that there was humor in the movie as well, because it made the atmosphere a lot lighter and funny.
passengers-2016-movie-free-download-720p-bluray-4

 

When Jim (Pratt) woke up first and found himself alone in the spacecraft, I felt so sorry for him, because there was no way for him to go back to sleep for the remaining 90 years. After a year passed though, he decided to wake up Aurora (Lawrence) in order to have some company, and I believe that this decision was out of his depression of being alone for so long. At first, I was so mad at him, as he would destroy her life forever, but then I sympathized with him and tried to understand him in order to keep watching without wanting to smash him!

 

passengers-10-date

One of my favourite scenes was towards the end, when Aurora tried everything in her power to revive Jim, because she realised that although he had woken up and destroyed her supposedly future, he mattered more than that, as she had come to love him deeply. That realisation was so sweet and hit me right in the feels!
js114851455passengers-xlarge_trans_nvbqzqnjv4bq29xaahq_i7orvqftvu6mkmuz9cvx64hq1tfw-ytnez0

 

Closing this review, the outcome is that this is a nice movie with the proper amount of romance, humour and action, so it is definitely a must see for a fun night spent inside!
Rating
3-stars
Thank you so much for reading, hope toy enjoy my posts and I’ll see you soon!

 

“Sometimes life is risking everything for the dream no one else can see but you”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

