Movie of the Week << The Edge of Seventeen (2016)

Heyyy people!

As I’ve said before, Sunday is one of my favourite days, just because I get to share my thoughts on a new movie with you! Movies are my passion, and I hope this posts make you as I happy as they make me when a write them. Without further rambling, this week’s movie is “The Edge of Seventeen”.

edge_of_seventeen

Title: The Edge of Seventeen

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Comedy, Drama

Starring: Hailee Steinfield, Woody Harrelson, Kyra Sedgwick, Haley Lu Richardson

Director: Kelly Fremon Craig

Duration: 1h 44m

Summary: Nadine (Hailee Steinfield) is a teenager struggling to survive the vicious monster called “High-school”. In this battle she is not alone, she is joined by her best friend Krista (Haley Lu Richardson) and everything seems more bearable when they are together. But what happens when Nadine’s brother, Darian, and Krista fall in love? Nadine feels the whole world is out to get her, while her biggest enemy is her own self…

14199709_1574777716161882_7093947733841970584_n

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): Before I watched the movie, I was afraid it would another one of those unrealistic versions of what high-school is and how teenagers feel, but I was surprised in a good way. It was quiet realistic and it brought back many memories from my one high school years.

17edge

Nadine and Krista have a very nice friendship and even though they were separated after their fight over Krista and Darien’s relationship, they eventually got back together. To me, their fight was Nadine’s fault and I believe she overreacted, but fights are common between friends, especially at the difficult teenage years. But, their friendship was strong and survived this tough time and I was so glad, because it would be a shame if they grew apart…

the-edge-of-seventeen

Nadine is a very complex person that has been through a lot, the worst of all being the loss of her father, whom she was pretty close to. This doesn’t excuse all of her actions, but in a way, it explains why she felt such strong emotions. What really helped her, in my opinion, was the “weird” relationship with her professor, portrayed by Woody Harrelson. He played an important part in Nadine’s life and was a breaking point in her psychological change.

edgeofseventeen_03

Generally, this movie left me feeling very content, as it had no plot holes or unanswered questions. What everyone should keep in mind while watching this movie is that we see a bunch of teenagers trying to navigate through life, so don’t be too harsh with the judgment.

Rating
3-stars
Thank you so much for reading this post and for following my blog! See you in a couple on days, as I am currently preparing and outfit post!
“When life gets confusing and hard, this is the part where you find out who you really are”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

