Movie of the Week << Irrational Man (2015)

Heyyy people!

Today has been an emotional roller coaster, starting with good and ending with bad feelings. It got to the point where I didn’t even wanted to write this review, but I thought it may be beneficial, so here it goes!

irrational_man_ver2_xxlg.jpg

Title: Irrational Man

Release Date: 2015

Genre: Comedy, Drama

Starring: Joaquin Phoenix, Emma Stone, Joe Stapleton

Director: Woody Allen

Duration: 1h 35m

Summary: Abe Lucas (Joaquin Phoenix) is a philosophy professor that struggles with inner demons and has lost every desire to live. When he meets young college student Jill Pollard (Emma Stone) she suddenly turns his world upside down. With his newfound strenght to enjoy his life, he decided to do a good act to a total stranger he overheard while eating, even though that means taking someone’s life.

joaquin-phoenix-emma-stone-in-irrational-man

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): The thing with Woody Allen’s movies is that you either love them or hate them, there is no in between. For example, when I watched “Midnight in Paris” I was not thrilled at all, I like the cinematography, but other than that I was very bored. On the contrary, this movie is pretty good, I liked the plot a lot, even though I didn’t like all of the characters.

irrational-man-trailer-italiano-600x300

One of the characters that didn’t look right for me was Abe. It sucks, since he is the protagonist, but I just could not get myself to like him and as the movie progressed, I despised him even more. The actor certainly did a very good job portraying him, that I have to recognize. What I think about him, is that he was so ungrateful of everything he had and he just kept wanting more and that was eventually what doomed him.

3

Jill and Abe’s relationship was not one you would call ideal. Jill thought she was in love with him, mostly because she liked so much his work and his books. He, on the other hand, felt flattered because of her undying interest, so he took advantage of her. I tried to believe that his feelings were true, but reaching the end of the movie it was clear that the person he cared most about is none other than himself. I don’t won’t to spoil anything more, because the ending had me at the edge of my seat, so I will give no further indication about it.

irrational-590x308

Closing, this is a fine movie, I do not regret watching it and it actually had me thinking about life and how grateful we should be about what we have. Because Abe was not only ungrateful, but he was so arrogant that he thought it was his choice if a man was going to live or die.

Rating

3-stars

Thank you so much for reading this review, hope you will like the movie as much as I did!

“Don’t let someone who gave up on their dreams, talk you out of going after yours”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

