Book of the month ~ A Gentleman in Moscow

Heyyy people!

Today is the last day of February and I have to tell you, I am not sad at all, I so ready for spring to take over winter! If you know me, you know that I am not the biggest fan of cold weather, so that easily explains why I am so excited over February’s end! The book of this month is called “A Gentleman in Moscow” by Amor Towles and I am simply in love with it!

17092374_1235922629810073_265686166_n

Summary: When, in 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed in unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, the count is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors. Unexpectedly, his reduced circumstances provide him a doorway into a much larger world of emotional discovery.

amor-towles-c-david-jacobs

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): Let me tell you, this book is so so good, that you will want to read it in one sitting! Amor Towles did a splendid job writing this and I want to read his other novel so bad! The way he narrated the events, the words he used he seemed such an experienced author, you would never guess that he has written only two novels!

 

The novel follows the story of Russia through difficult times, such as WWI and WWII, and at first you might get the impression that this is going to be filled with historic information, but Towles gives you the exact amount of historic context, so that you are very well aware of the political and social situation without getting bored.

 

The Count is a very interesting character to watch unfold before your eyes, because at the beginning given his wealth his a little ignorant about the real world, but as the years pass and is in house arrest, he starts seeing life from a different perspective. He is very educated and that is clear from the way he speaks and from his mannerisms. What more, I really like the way the writer gives us flashbacks from Alexander’s past of intertwines his story with the stories of other minor characters, so you get the full picture of what’s actually going on.

 

One of my favourite characters is Nina, who we first meet at the tender age of 13 and she easily befriends the Count, showing him there’s more to the Metropol than meets the eye. She is a vital part of the Count’s life and in my opinion, she kind of shaped him and gave him a whole new perspective of life.

 

Closing, this book is definitely one of my favourites, I loved it so much and I just wanted it to last forever! I highly recommend it, you are in for a very pleasant reading if you decide to pick it up!
Rating
5-stars
“If you want to be successful, you must respect one rule: never lie to yourself”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

 

(I do not claim the photos or the rights of the book mine)

Leave a Reply

