Movie of the Week << Never Let me Go (2010)

Heyyy people!

What’s up?? The past few days have been very rainy and I have been soaked wet twice in one week, so it would not be an exaggeration to say that I am already fed up with rain for the rest of spring! But, leaving that to the side, today I am very excited to talk about a movie that broke my heart, and that is none other than “Never let me go”.

never_let_me_go_ver5_xlg.jpg

Title: Never Let me Go
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Drama
Starring: Carrey Mulligan, Andrew Garfield, Keira Knightley
Director: Mark Romanek
Duration: 1h 43m

 

Summary: Hailsam is a special school with special students. These kids have a pre-designed future: they will grow up only to become organ donors and after their 4th donation they will be allowed to complete, as they called. The movie follows Tommy (Andrew Garfield), Ruth (Keira Knightley) and Kathy (Carrey Mulligan) through their journey into adulthood, loss and true love.

 

coFoxSearchlight2

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): This is a movie that I have seen before actually, I saw it when it came out and I decided to watch it again the past week, because there were many parts of the story that I had forgotten. I am glad I watched it again, as I was reminded of a story that looked like it could be sci-fi, but is actually a drama, letting the audience see inside the human soul and its most intimate secrets.

 

never-let-me-go-27

What draw me most to the film, was the cast, since I am a very big fan of Keira Knightley for years and then Mulligan and Garfield are actors that I like a lot as well, so it was kind of a dream cast for me. They did a very good job portraying their characters, I hated Keira’s character, Ruth, she was so jealous of Kathy and eventually Tommy, that she decided to steal everything from them. Also, when Tommy, Andrew Garfield’s character, realised there were no more deferrals and he broke down in tears screaming, it was a very touching and defying moment for the plot and Garfield did pretty good.

 

Never-Let-Me-Go-andrew-garfield-20863890-1276-544

As far as the story goes, when Ruth was in her 2nd donation, she went on a trip with Tommy and Kathy. There, she told them that she was jealous of their relationship as teens and thats why she decided to start an affair with Tommy, because she wanted to feel loved. I can understand her reasons (I am not saying that I am justifying her actions) but if Tommy loved Kathy with all his heart and she was his one true love since he was 13, then why did he even start a relationship with Ruth? I mean, it takes two people to do the did, so if he was so devastated that he was missing out on Kathy all these years, why didn’t he say so?

 

never-let-me-go-4-6e05f1

What I liked most about this movie is the fact that it had many Sci fi elements, but it was placed in the 90s, so all the clothing and the background scenery, made it seem very real. It is a very nice and heartbreaking movie as I said before and I would recommend it, because it is very well directed and the actors did a fantastic job.

 

Rating
4-stars
Thank you so much for reading my review and I hope that you will enjoy the movie as much as I did!
“Excuses will always be there for you, opportunities won’t”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

