Movie of the Week << Arrival (2016)

Heyyy people!

This is a very exciting post for me to write, since I really really enjoyed this movie and I could not wait to share it with you! I just want to clarify that I decided to do a spoiler-free review, because I feel that if I reveal even the slightest detail, it might spoil the whole storyline. The movie plot is quite clever, in my opinion, and I don’t want to ruin it for those of you who haven’t watched it yet.

17431426_1255660984502904_2117368469_o.jpg

Title: Arrival

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Dram, Mystery, Sci-Fi

Starring: Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner, Forest Whitaker

Director: Dennis Villeneuve

Duration: 1h 56m

Summary: When 12 spacecrafts land in 12 different locations for an unknown reason, Louise Banks who is a linguistics professor, is recruited by the US government in order to contact the aliens to find out what their purpose is.

arrivalreview-story_647_112516043558

Likes/Dislikes (spoiler free): First and foremost, I want to say how amazing Amy Adams was in this movie! Her character was far more complex than it seemed and she did a very good job manoeuvring present day and all the flashbacks. I actually watched the movie because of her, as everyone was saying that she was robbed of am Oscars nomination and after watching it, I couldn’t agree more!

Arrival-Movie-Header-Image

A feature I also like was the way the aliens were writing. It was very innovative to use circles with motives, instead of actual letters, as this was an effect that made the movie original among others. Also, one circle could be a whole sentence, so the whole linguistics team had to work double the time to decipher it.

arrival

As I said previously, this movie is very clever and when you think you know how the plot goes, suddenly everything turns upside down and your perspective changes drastically! I would compare it with the movie “Inception” even though they have very different storylines, I believe they way they are conducted is very similar and interesting for the audience, so I would highly recommend watching this movie!

1031446-hybride-brings-director-denis-villeneuve-s-vision-big-screen-arrival

Rating

4-stars

Thank you for reading this review and I hope that you will watch the movie and find it as interesting as I did!

“Remeber the guy that gave up? Neither does anyone else”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

2 thoughts on “Movie of the Week << Arrival (2016)

Leave a Reply

