Movie of the Week << Beauty and the Beast (2017)

Heyyy people!

At first, I want to apologise, because this post wasn’t up on Sunday, as it should be. But, on Sunday morning I woke up feeling very sick and I rested in bed the whole day, trying to feel better. So with that being said, I decided to do my movie review on Monday, since I really wanted to talk about “Beauty and the Beast”, the live action version.

17548632_1262691447133191_718752764_o

Title: Beauty and the Beast

Release Date: 2017

Genre: Family, Fantasy, Musical

Starring: Emma Watson, Dan Stevens, Luke Evans, Josh Gad, Emma Thompson, Kevin Kline

Director: Bill Condon

Duration: 2h 9m

Summary: The well known story springs back to life once again, this time with actuall actors stepping in to act out the heroes of the classic Disney movie. So, once more we follow Belle through the enchanted castle, we see her and the Beast banter and fall in love, and finally right before our eyes the curse is broken and everyone lives happily ever after!

Beauty-and-the-Beast-Trailer06

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): I was very very excited to see this movie, because I am a huge fan of Disney movies and I was really hoping that the live action version would be worth the fuss that was made about it. Overall, I cannot say that I am disappointed, just that there were a few things that I didn’t like, as I believe there was no reason to add to the movie extra content, just so that you could make it last longer. I will explain myself in a short while.

beauty-and-the-beast-2017-movie-26

My favourite part in probably every Disney movie, is the singing! I don’t know what compells me about it, I just think that this way of exressing a character feelings and intentions is so genuine and heartfelt. There was some good singing in this movie too, and I have to say that the song I enjoyed most, was “Kill the Beast”, which Gaston sings, while attacking the castle. Well, you know may think I am cruel person for liking this song, but I can’t help it when it has such a nice and catchy tune! What I thought was unneccessary though, was the fact that some original songs were added and I don’t think they served an actual purpose with the plot.

beauty-beast-2017-belle-watson

I also noticed a very interesting addition to the film, they actually tried to make Belle and the Beast flirt more with each other, so that it would be clear to everyone that genuine feelings were formed. I know that there were talks about Belle suffering from Stockholm Syndrome and many critics tried to bring up this subject, and I believe the added context of them flirting was merely because they tried to defend their on screen romance.
** For those of you who are not familiar with the term, Stockholm Syndrome means the a kidnapped person begins to develop romantic feelings for its captor, even though he os she is not treating the victim well.

3152704-batb-09225sm.jpg

Generally, it was an entertaining movie that I enjoyed watching a lot, it just didn’t do a very lasting impression on my, but that doesn’t mean that I regret going to the cinema to watch it!

Rating

3-stars

Thank you for reading this review and I would like to read your opinion in the commends below, if you have watched it too!

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”  

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

