Book of the Month ~ Cinder

Heyyy people!

Can you believe that April is already here? I mean, I think March passed in the blink of an eye! Well, that can be a good thing though, since I am very eager for summer to come, as it is my favourite season!
Enough with my rant, and let’s get talking about this month’s book, which is none other than Marissa Meyer’s “Cinder”.

Cinder_(Official_Book_Cover)_by_Marissa_Meyer.png

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Cinder is considered a technological mistake by most of society and a burden by her stepmother. Being cyborg does have its benefits, though: Cinder’s brain interference has given her an uncanny ability to fix things (robots, hovers, her own malfunctioning parts), making her the best mechanic in New Beijing. This reputation brings Prince Kai himself to her weekly market booth, needing her to repair a broken android before the annual ball. He jokingly calls it “a matter of national security,” but Cinder suspects it’s more serious than he’s letting on. Although eager to impress the prince, Cinder’s intentions are derailed when her younger stepsister, and only human friend, is infected with the fatal plague that’s been devastating Earth for a decade. Blaming Cinder for her daughter’s illness, Cinder’s stepmother volunteers her body for plague research, an “honor” that no one has survived. But it doesn’t take long for the scientists to discover something unusual about their new guinea pig. Something others would kill for.

meyer pic credit Kali Raisl.jpg

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): This was a very enjoyable book I have to say, that I found myself devouring in just 2 days, due to how easy it can be read. I mean no offence by saying the following, but this is the kind of book that I would call a “cheat book”. Let me explain. The story was a very pleasant one and it kept me very interested but since it is YA (young adult) literature , it didn’t do much more that entertain me. I am not saying this is a bad thing, actually I like to read different styles of book genres and YA is a genre I will always come back to.

As fas as the plot goes, I found very exciting the fact that cyborgs and humans can interact and live together in a very futuristic version of our planet. It made matters way more intriguing, since sometimes I could forget that Cinder is a cybord and then all of a sudden I’d be reading about her metallic food coming off! I also liked her character a lot, she is so smart and speaks her mind without restraint, and all the same she is so sensitive and caring, that you can’t help but like her.

The romance between her and prince Kai was so cute and it brought back highschool memories but is was so evident that they will have a long way to go in order to be together, if they ever make it! Mind you, they have to defeat an evil Lunar Queen, plus Cinder in someway or another becomes a fugitive, so yeah, the plot thickens a lot. It is expected actually, as there is a total of 4 books, and I look forward to reading the other 3 installments, because “Cinder” ended at a cliffhanger and now I am left wondering about the rest!

Summing it up, it is a very nice and fast paced book woth good characters and a promising plot! You can’t ask for more or can you? Well, I am giving it a very well deserved 3-star rating, in the hopes that you will take a chance on it!

Rating

3-stars

“Failure is not fatal, but failure to change might be”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

 

(I do not claim the photos or the rights of the book mine)

 

Leave a Reply

