Movie of the Week << The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014)

Heyyy people!

How has your weekend been so far? Today was a very busy day for me, but I didn’t mind at all since I got to meet many of friends and we had a great time all together! Leaving that aside, today I am going to talk about a movie that I liked so so much, which is called “The Grand Budapest Hotel”.

T1gdMNQ.jpg

Title: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Release Date: 2014

Genre: Adventure, Comedy, Drama

Starring: Ralph Fiennes, Jude Law, Edward Norton, Saoirse Ronan, Willem Dafoe

Director: Wes Anderson

Duration: 1h 39m

Summary: The movie follows the adventures of a successful concierge at “The Grand Budapest” Hotel named Gustav, who befriends the new lobby boy, dragging him on unimaginable shenanigans that take place between the 2 World Wars.

grand-budapest_2813768b


Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): First, I want to say that Wes Anderson has just made the list of my favourite directors! I really really liked the way this movie was directed, Anderson has a very unique style and I find it very refreshing the fact that he divided the movie to parts, it helped a lot with the plot and also it is something that you don’t usually see in movies.

1398884840195


What more, the cast was so so good! I mean a movie with Ralph Fiennes, Edward Norton, Adrien Brody, Saoirse Ronan, Bill Murray and Jude Law? With a cast that good, the movie cannot really be a disappointment right? Every actor executed their part very well and all together, they made of film of very good performances.

Guards_GBH


Plot wise, I loved Zero and Gustav’s friendship, they seemed so devoted to one another! Zero did everything in his power to help break Gustav out of jail, with the help of Agatha of course, and in the end Gustav showed ultimate gratitude, by making Zero his sole heir, leaving him all his fortune. I found Agatha and Zero’s relationship so heartwarming and true, even though they were pretty young and I was very saddened to read about its unfortunate ending.

The_Grand_Budapest_Hotel_Movie_Wallpapers_9_uqttp_2120X1192

Lastly, one of my favourite parts is when Gustav and Zero are running inside the hotel while Dimitri is pursuing them and all of a sudden everyone starts shooting everyone across the hotel’s balconies! Then Edward Norton’s character appears, seeing all this madness and casually shouts: “OK, who’s shooting who?” Man, you gotta simply love this actor…!


Rating

4-stars

Thank you so much for reading this review, hope you enjoyed it and I’ll see you soon with an outfit post!

“There is nothing more satisfying than waking up everyday feeling proud for yourself”.

 

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

