Movie of the Week << Hidden Figures (2016)

Heyyy people!

Another Sunday, another movie review! This week’s movie is a very recent one, that I enjoyed a lot and also I believe it is a movie that gives food for thought, as it takes as to a time when racism was present and led to violent outtakes on black people. Without further a due, let me present to you “Hidden Figures”.

505-film-page-large

Title: Hidden Figures

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Biography, Drama, History

Starring: Taraji henson, Octavia Spencer, janelle Monae

Director: Theodore Melfi

Duration: 2h 7m

Summary: In 1960s three black women work in NASA at the mathematcis department and each of them helps to send the first American into space, putting to use their extraordinary mathematical skills. More than that, the movie follows their personal lifes to, as they try to navigate through love, racism and handlind their careers.

gallery-1482268092-hf1

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): As I said previosly, I liked this movie a lot, because it was pretty fun to watch and heartbreakeing at some points. It totally swept me off my feet and I found myself cheering with the characters when they accomplished a goal. These three women were extraordinary characters and I was so inspired by their determination to achieve greatness in such a difficult environment. If you think about they were not only women working on a job that mostly hired men, they were also black women, which for that time would hardly be helpful with all the racism there was.

Hidden Figures Day 41

Plot wise, I believe it was a little bit sugarcoated, because the screenwriter decided to focus on the good stuff thet happend to them, and not dwell so much on all the mishaps. I do not want that comment to be misinterpreted, I am sure it is a pretty accurate adaptation of the true story, all I’m saying is that there were surely mmore difficulties along the way, that were just not shown in the movie.

2017-01-06-1483705923-121340-hiddenfiguresHF228_rgbe1483623580966

One of my favourite scenes is the one when Taraji’s character has to go to the bathroom and in the building she is located in, there are no toilets for coloured women, so that means she has to walk over 4 miles to the next building in the campus to find a bathroom. One day, her boss comes in while she is missing and just when seh apperas again soaking wet from walking in the rain, he starts reprimanding her about the fact that she was absent. And then, ladies and gentlemen, Taraji Henson gives us a furious rant about how difficult it is to be a coloured woman amongt white men, and I was on the verge of clapping ofr her!

hidden-figures-3

Closing up this review, for me this is a movei worth watching, because it can teach a powerful lesson about how pointless and harmfull racism is. Also, it is rated PG and I love that, because that means even younger kids can watch the movie and be inspired by it!

Rating

4-stars

“If you don’t want to learn, no one can help you. If you are determined to learn, no one can stop you”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

