Movie of the Week << Bitter Harvest (2017)

​Heyyy people! 

I hope you had an amazing Easter, spent with your loved ones! I know I have been quite absent the past days, but I decided to take a break and enjoy a week with my family and friends! Today, though, I thought that I should come back and I will do so with a new movie called “Bitter Harvest”.

Title: Bitter Harvest 

Genre: Drama, Romance, War

Release Date: 2017 

Starring: Max Irons, Terence Stamp, Samantha Barks, Lucy Brown 

Director: George Mendeluk 

Duration: 1h 43m

Summary: Around 1930s Ukrainian people faced the Holodomor, which was Stalin’s death-by-starvation program. The movie follows the Yuri’s life, who is struggling between love, creating his artistic career and trying to play his part in the Ukrainian revolution against the Soviets.


Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): What I liked most about this movie is the fact that it was (for the most part) historically correct. Personally, I am really interested in Russian history, and even though the movie focuses more on Ukrainian history, it reveals some aspects of the Soviet that I didn’t know and this movie urged me to research forward and learn more.

The love story between Yuri and Natalka was sweet and the chemistry between the actors was pretty good! Yuri was a struggling artist and Natalka had such a strong character and helped him through everything, and also supported him all the way to Kiev.

The Ukrainian revolution was also a very interesting process for me to watch, because you could feel how desperate these people were to free themselves and find a way to not starve to death and try to oppose to the Soviets.

Sometimes, though, I found myself feeling a little bored and wanting the plot to progress faster. It’s not like I thought to turn off my laptop, I was just patiently waiting for something “exciting” to happen.

Overall, I really liked the movie, and I would definitely urge someone to watch it, because it combines the elements of drama and historical accuracy in an almost perfect way as it was quite enjoyable and interesting to watch!

Thank you so much for reading my review, hope you liked it and I’ll be back in the following days with an outfit post!

Rating

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram: themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

