Book of the Month ~ King’s Cage (April 2017)

Heyyy people! 

How have you been doing? I have been mentally preparing myself for the week that is about to follow, since it is going to be hectic, but also exciting!

Today I am doing a review of the book “King’s Cage” by Victoria Aveyard, which is the third installment in the “Red Queen” series. The first two books, “Red Queen” and “Glass Sword” have been featured in my blog in the previous months.

Summary:​ Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner. As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back. When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): The first thing I want to say is that I thought this was the final book in the series and discovering it wasn’t, felt quite bittersweet. On one hand, I wanted to finally read how Mare’s story is going to end, to see if she is getting a happily ever after or not. On the other, I like the series a lot, so I want it to last as much as possible!

If you have read “Glass Sword” you will surely remember that in the end, Mare gave herself to Maven, in order to save Cal and the other newbloods. So, in this book, we start with Mare living inside the Whitefire palace, as Maven prisoner/pet. Maven is obviously obsessed with her and cannot let her go. He is so confused, as he has to navigate his duties and his so-called love/obsession with Mare, that everything seems to go downhill for him.

In the middle of the book, I have to admit I was kind of bored, because the story dragged a little and there were many filler chapters. Also, there were some implications that Mare felt sorry for Maven, because he started revealing information about his past that were quite disturbing. I understand that seems felt some kind of sympathy, but that doesn’t excuse him for everything he has ever done to her and Cal. Thank God, she came to her senses and I have to say I was more than relieved!

Cal and Mare’s romance was so so sweet and was something I was waiting to happen almost since the first book. To be frank, I have no idea if they will end up together, there are so many things that separate them and don’t let us forget the oncoming war and the efforts to dethrone Maven. I am a bit romantic and I want to believe that in end they will find a way to be together!

I really liked the final fight, it had some pretty strong moments and also showed Cal and Mare’s dedication to one another, once more! The ending scenes, where an alliance is formed between the Kingdom of the Rift and the Kingdom of Norta, something I was not very pleased to read, but at this point I truly believe there is no other way to end Maven’s tyranny.

Overall, it was an enjoyable read, if you leave aside some parts in the middle. I don’t know when the next book is going to come out, I just hope it will be another good novel about the story of Reds and Silvers.

Rating

3-stars

Thank you for reading my review, hope you liked it and tune in tomorrow for a new movie review!

“If you try and fail, congratulations, most people don’t even try”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind
Instagram: themanyartsofthemind
xoxo
(I do not claim the photos or the rights of the book mine)
2 thoughts on “Book of the Month ~ King’s Cage (April 2017)

Leave a Reply

