Movie of the Week << Allied (2016)

Heyyy people!

How is your day so far? Well, mine has been pretty good so far, and I thought that there would be no better ending to the day, than writing a movie review! This week the moviw that caught my attention is “Allied” and I will further explain why in minute.

ALLIED-Layout-1-691x1024.jpg

Title: Allied

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Romance, Action, Drama

Duration: 2h 4m

Director:  Robert Zemeckis

Starring: Brad Pitt, Marion Cotillard, Anton Blake

Summary: In WWII two intelligence agents meet in North Africa. His name is Max and she is Marianne, two people who beat impossible odds and survive a suicide mission, while falling in love with each other. They move to England with the hope to start a family and live a peaceful life, but what will happen to them when the authorities accuse Marianne of being a German spy in disguise?

Allied

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): My first impression when I was only a few minuted into the movie, was that it seemed veey well produced. That thought was justified throughout the 2 hours of its duration, since I was very taken with the outfits, the locations and props used to make this film.

allied_004

Just after I had watched the trailer, I was a little skeptical about Pitt and Cotillard’s pairing. I couldn’t see them as a couple and was hoping that the movie would change that. Actually, they weren’t that bad together, I mean surely I have seen couples with a more intense chemistry, but they were not something that I would complain about.

6Allied-1

As far as the story goes, I really really liked the whole North Africa vibe. Although they were on a mission, they seemed carefree and even though they tried to avoid it, they eventually fell in love. It is very ironic how Max said that relationships in their bussiness never work, if you consider the events that followed.

Allied-header-620x373-2

I have two favourite scenes in this movie.
The first is when they are in Max’s car and let their feelings take control, since they realise that after the mission they may not be alive, while a sandstorm is starting outside. The whole atmosphere was so romantic and intense, it really swept me off my feet.
My other favourite scene is, as I like to call it, the “piano scene”. Max forces Marianne to play the piano for him, to prove she is really herself anf not an allegedly German spy. Unfortunately, Marriane’s true identity is uncover in a heartbreaking scene, where Cotillard gives a very good performance, on that made my admire her even more as an actress.

Film-Allies

All an all, it is a very nice war movie, with a good cast that I would recommend to anyone who’s in for a romantic movie with action and war background.

Rating

4-stars

We have reached the end of today’s post, I hope you will see the movie and give me feedback!

“Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects”.

Follow me on

Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind

Instagram themanyartsofthemind

xoxo

(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)

Leave a Reply

