Movie of the Week << Silence (2016)

Heyyy people!

How has your day been? I have been pretty busy, because my assignments are due this week and next week we are starting finals at college, so things have been so hectic! On a happier note, this week’s movie is “Silence” and I am very excited to talk about it!!!

18817418_1319683751433960_1509789958_o.jpg

Title: Silence

Release Date: 2016

Genre: Adventure, Drama, History

Starring: Andrew Garfield, Adam Driver, Liam Neeson, Yôsuke Kubozuka

Director: Martin Scorseze

Duration: 2h 41m

Summary: In the 17th century two Jesuit priests are on a mission to travel to Japan and save their mentor, who they think is lost in the wilderness, but rumor has it that he has commited apostasy.

most-anticipated-movies-2016-1

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): My general impression of the movie is a very good one! I really enjoyed it and of course the director did an explicit job, as always! Along with the director, I deeply admired the director of photography too, as he gave us some amazing scenes of pure natural beauty and much more.

silence-2

Speaking about the actors, I have to say that I am in awe of Andrew Garfield. I was first introduced to him through the “The Amazing Spiderman” and “The Amazing Spiderman 2” movies. After “Hacksaw Ridge” and this movie, I hold him in the highest esteem, because he has proven himself to be an exemplary actor, and I am sure his name will emerge on the Oscar nominees list a lot of times.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-8-50-14-am

As far as the plot goes, this was based on real events and it was quite interesting to follow the journey of these two priests through Japan and everything they endured from the Japanese governors. I cannot say who’s right and who’s not, because on one hand the Japanese goverment wanted to maintain their original faith in Buddha, as it was a way to keep their country united amd on the other hand the Jesuit priests wanted to propagate Catholism as they thought was their mission in life. I am not going to go on a debate about faith and God, I will just say that I enjoyed the movie and it really gives food for thought!

silence4-xlarge_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BqKV8_ZdlhCGslvwcurCKiN8lPVPRbhDdRB_0py15ntjE

Rating

4-stars

Thank you so much for reading my review, I will see you in a few days with an outfit post!

“Continuous learning is the minimum requirem for success in any field”.

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind
Instagram: themanyartsofthemind
xoxo
(I do not own the rights to the movie or the pictures)
Leave a Reply

