Book of the Month ~ Love in the time of cholera (May 2017)

Heyyy people!

June is finally here and I am so so happy, since summer is my favourite season and I am more than ready to cherish the sunshine and the beautiful days that are to come! First, though, I have to finish my finals, but that doesn’t diminish my happiness at all! On another note, in May I bought “Love in the time of Cholera” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez and I simply loved it, so I am very excited to share my review with you!

18902267_1322781414457527_408389421_n

Summary: On the Caribbean coast at the dawn of the 20th century, hopeless romantic Florentino Ariza falls passionately for beautiful Fermina Daza – but tragically his love is rejected. Instead Fermina marries distinguished Dr Juvenal, while Florentino can only forget her in the arms of other women.
Yet, fifthy one years, nine months and four days later, Fermina’s husband unexpectedly dies in an accident. Finally Florentino has another chance to profess his enduring love.
But will he be rejected once more?

18902191_1322782111124124_465487781_n(1)

Likes/Dislikes (may contain spoilers): First of all, I want to say that I highly recommend this book as it is very well written and the story can sweep you off your feet, it will totally make you think about what love is and how many aspects of it exist in life. Also, I am very impressed by the writer, because this book is equally heartbreaking, semsitive and funny, which I personally believe, is not an easy goal to achieve. What more, it can be read with much ease, I practically wanted to devpur it in one sitting!

As far as the story goes, even though you know from the summary that Florentino Ariza and Fermina Daza do not end up together, as their story unravels, I could not keep myself from wishing that they would, by a miraculous chance, be together in the end. They were both very complex characters and their journy is an interesting one to follow, even though they are complete opposites on some matters.

This book actually talks about love from the beginning and actually celebrates love and every form it can take, may it be emotional or physical. It explores its aspects with such lyricism and at the same time, realism, that it is inevitable for someone not to feel a flutter in one’s chest while reading.

Not wanting to reveal anything more about the plot, I will make this last comment and then close my review. When Fermina Daza’s father, Lorenzo Daza, found out about her affair with Florentino Ariza, he decided that since he was not particularly wealthy or someone with a noble name, that the two of them should immediately be separated. So, he took his daughter to live with her cousins on her mom’s side, in order to forget all about him. The irony is that when he wanted to marry her mother, her relatives did not want him as well, so they eloped and got married and now he seems to have forgotten all of this, and tries to “save” his daughter from an unwanted suitor by bringing her to the same relatives that compain about him years ago!
For me, that was quite sad, because he treated Florentino Ariza exactly the same way Fermina Daza’s relatives treated him, when he was young. He didn;t seem to grasp that history kind off repeated itself and I believe that he should have been more resilient towards their romance!

Rating

4-stars

Thank you so much for reading my review, see you on Sunday with a movie review, as always!!

Follow me on
Twitter https://twitter.com/ManyArtsInMind
Instagram: themanyartsofthemind
xoxo
(I do not claim the photos or the rights of the book mine)
Leave a Reply

